Skiers Who Code

IMG_4950

Training season is upon us.

As many of you know, I recently began my journey into web development at the Turing School of Software & Design. It feels like every day has been a yard sale after yard sale. A pain similar to doing squats after a long hiatus. Where each step reminds you how out of shape you are. Yet, I find myself craving this pain. Even waking up in the middle of the night thinking about code.

Turing School of Software and Design Denver Colorado RubySoftware development provides a creative outlet similar to that found in the mountains. Where only nature dictates how you might act, where you can go, or who you can explore with. It’s as exhilarating as ripping untouched powder turns in the Mt. Baker backcountry. I’ve found that pushing myself past the safety of what is known has often led to the most rewarding experiences.

It fuels my search for freedom, similar to being in the mountains. Even though this journey has just begun, I find comfort in relating my evolution in backcountry skills to the current pain of wrong number of arguments (see below) and NoMethodError after hours spent refactoring.

Check back in the following weeks for technical related posts. The hope with Skiers Who Code is to start a series around software development practices as related to experiences we’ve shared in the mountains. Some topics I’m considering are “TDD: the Pizza Wedge of Junior Developers”, “Pair Programming & How to Not Spend a Night in the Cold”, and “Boot-Packing Software, Setting the Trail for Success”. Until then, feel free to connect on Twitter and Github, and please let me know if you have any thoughts on the journey.

PS – I’m not a huge fan of the word code as a descriptor for software developers. As Jeff has mentioned, it implies code-monkeys or someone whose skills are easily replaceable. Learning best practices at Turing, true developers are far from such a role. But Skiers Who Code sounded better than Skiers Who Develop Web Applications.

Screen Shot 2015-09-06 at 6.07.13 PM

